Week 6: Before the Plunge. Will The Third Man hold up after 60+ Years?

Tomorrow we’re going to be checking out the film “The Third Man.”  We’re already aware from Wednesday what the critics have to say about this movie.  At 104 minutes, it should be rather tolerable if it’s not perfect.

Am I excited to see it?  Frankly, no.  I’ve never seen an old noir film, and I’m not so sure I will like it when I do.  I don’t really get the plot from the resources we’ve checked out over the week, and these older movies tend to drag, even if they’re great.  I’m watching this one out of obligation.  I hope my expectations are blown completely out of the water, but there you go!

On the other hand, I have never seen Orson Welles in an acting role to my best recollection.  It’s another opportunity to go in fresh on a legendary actor, something I enjoyed immensely with Marlon Brando and “On the Waterfront.”

I decided to go in without listening to the soundtrack, as well.  Therefore, no post yesterday.  I want to hear this supposedly iconic soundtrack fresh and in context.

So we’ll be seeing you tomorrow!  I hope you’re watching along at home if you haven’t seen it.  The Thiiiiird Man!  (according to the trailer).

About Zach

Zach works as a medical writer in Atlanta, GA. In his spare time, he likes to play video games and Dice Masters.
This entry was posted in Movies, Week Six and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

