Trailer Tuesday: Week 5 (But it’s Monday!)

Shaking things up this week.  We’ve picked On the Waterfront, the earliest film covered so far by the IMDB Quest.  Today we’re taking a look at some trailers, and I find it interesting to see these older films in preview form.  Much different from how we do things today:

As you can see, much of it is spent simply telling you how good the makers of the film think it is.  I was not very impressed by the trailer, but I was psyched to notice Eva Marie Saint in here.  I did not catch it on my initial skim of IMDB after picking this one out.  I liked her a lot in North by Northwest, and so I expect I’ll like her here, too!

The trailer doesn’t tell us much about the story, mainly who is in it.  Unfortunately, this is a little lost on me since I’m only familiar with Marlon Brando, principally.  This is the only trailer I could find, which is not too surprising.  I’m not going to expect a TV cut in a time when television was just starting to get popular.

Does the trailer get you worked up to watch the film?  In my opinion, no.  It doesn’t convey what it’s about.  It doesn’t look particularly impressive cinematically, and I have very little to attach myself to.  We will shove forward, of course, but it’s a tiny bit less exciting now.

About Zach

Zach works as a medical writer in Atlanta, GA. In his spare time, he likes to play video games and Dice Masters.
This entry was posted in Movies, Week Five and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

