Week 4: Complete!

Let’s get it out of the way.  Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels was an awesome movie!  I’m generally ambivalent to heist films unless they’re funny (for some reason).  This movie did not disappoint in that regard.  I thought it was very cleverly written, and the humor was at times overt and at other times quite subtle.

 

Sitting through the film I remembered some of the biggest criticisms I saw it get.  The plot was convoluted, said Roger Ebert.  A lot of the negative reviews stem from this inability to follow the story.  I’m kind of a moron when it comes to film, and I had no trouble following the plot.  I was really on the edge of my seat wondering how all these absolutely malevolent forces were going to converge and how the heroes (ha) would get out of it.  I, personally, DID care about the main characters.  They seemed like low end but somewhat decent guys caught in a huge jam.  I cared whether they succeeded, and I wanted them to win in the end.
I did not agree, also, that the characters felt too young.  I thought their youth added to the bewilderment of the situation.  How are these four twenty-somethings possibly going to get out of this?  It added to the suspense in my mind.

So I don’t really agree with the weaknesses picked out by the critics.  In that sense I can see why there was a disparity between popular and critical reaction.  Would I recommend seeing it?  Of course!  It breezed along at a healthy clip and peppered the dark story of thugs and brute violence with some funny gags.  Everything intertwines so carefully throughout the film and then suddenly unravels in the end.  You should definitely check out Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels if you have not.

That’s going to wrap up week 4.  We’ll be picking a new movie on Monday, and perhaps some final thoughts will be added tomorrow!  Have a good one.

About Zach

Zach works as a medical writer in Atlanta, GA. In his spare time, he likes to play video games and Dice Masters.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

